LABORATOIRE KONTEMPO

Image
Image
Image
Image

Brief von Afonso I. im Kongo

Sammy Baloji

Brief von Afonso I. im Kongo an Manuel I. von Portugal über die Verbrennung des „Großen Hauses der Götzen“.

 

Afonso I. (1456-1543) war der zweite christliche Herrscher des Kongo-Königreichs. Wahrscheinlich im siebten Jahrhundert geboren und im fünfzehnten Jahrhundert auf seinem Höhepunkt, entsprach dieses riesige Königreich entlang der Atlantikküste nördlich von Angola fast der gesamten heutigen Republik  Kongo, dem Westen der Demokratischen Demokratischen Republik Kongo und einem  Teil von Gabun; im Osten reichte es vom Atlantischen Ozean bis westlich des Kwango-Flusses und im Süden vom Kongo-Fluss bis zum Loge-Fluss. Während der Herrschaft von Manuel I. (1469-1521) begann die portugiesische Expansion nach Amerika und zu den indischen Inseln. In den 1480er Jahren wurden die ersten kommerziellen und diplomatischen Beziehungen mit dem Kongo-Königreich aufgenommen. Im Jahr 1509 besiegelte Afonso I. ein Bündnis mit Manuel I. im Namen der Ausbreitung des christlichen Glaubens. Dieses Abkommen, in dem jeder Monarch seine Interessen vertritt, wird sehr schnell von Konflikten mit den Portugiesen im Kongo zerstört.

 

Bio

 

Sammy Baloji (geboren 1978 in Lubumbashi, RD Kongo) lebt und arbeitet zwischen Lubumbashi und Brüssel. Seit September 2019 promoviert er an der Sint Lucas Antwerpen School of Arts zum Thema „Contemporary Kasala and Lukasa: towards a Reconfiguration of Identity and Geopolitics“. Seit 2005 beschäftigt sich Sammy Baloji mit der Erinnerung und der Geschichte der Demokratischen Republik Kongo. Seine Arbeit ist eine kontinuierliche Suche nach dem kulturellen, architektonischen und industriellen Erbe der Region Katanga und hinterfragt die Auswirkungen der belgischen Kolonisierung.

Er wurde mit dem Titel Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres ausgezeichnet und erhielt eine Reihe von Stipendien, Preisen und Auszeichnungen, insbesondere bei den African Photography Encounters in Bamako und der Biennale in Dakar. Er ist außerdem Gewinner der Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. In den Jahren 2019-2020 arbeitete er als Artist-in-Residence der Französischen Akademie in Rom – Villa Medici. Seit 2018 unterrichtet er an der Sommerakademie in Salzburg. Im Jahr 2008 war Sammy Baloji Mitbegründer der Picha Encounters/Lubumbashi Biennale. Zu seinen jüngsten monografischen Ausstellungen gehören Sammy Baloji, Other TalesS, Lund Konsthall und Aarhus Kunsthal (2020); Congo, Fragments d’une histoire, Le Point du Jour, Cherbourg (2019); A Blueprint for Toads and Snakes, Framer Framed, Amsterdam (2018); Sven Augustijnen & Sammy Baloji, Museumcultuur Strombeek (2018); Urban Now: City Life in Congo, Sammy Baloji und Filip de Boeck, The Power Plant, Toronto und WIELS, Brüssel (2016-2017); und Hunting and Collecting, Mu.ZEE Kunstmuseum aan zee, Ostende (2014). Er nahm kürzlich an der Biennale von Sydney (2020), der documenta 14 (Cassel/Athènes, 2017), der Biennale de Lyon (2015), der Biennale von Venedig (2015) und dem Festival Photoquai im Musée du Quai Branly (Paris, 2015) teil.

LABORATOIRE KONTEMPO

Image
Image
Image
Image

Letter from Afonso I of Kongo

Sammy Baloji

Letter from Afonso I of Kongo to Manuel I of Portugal Regarding the Burning of the ‘Great House of Idols’.

 

Afonso I (1456-1543) was the second Christian monarch of the Kongo king- dom. Probably born in the seventh cen- tury and at its peak in the fifteenth, this immense kingdom would correspond today, along the Atlantic coast, to the north of Angola, to almost the entire Republic of Congo, to the west of the Democratic Republic of Congo and to part of Gabon; to the east, it extended from the Atlantic Ocean to the west of the Kwango River and, to the south, from the Congo River to the Loge River. It was during the reign of Manuel I (1469-1521) that Portuguese expansion towards the Americas and the Indies began. In the 1480s, the first commer- cial and first commercial and diplomatic relations with the Kongo kingdom. In 1509, the advent of Afonso I sealed an alliance with with Manuel I, in the name of the propagation of the Christian faith. This agreement, where each monarch finds his interest, is very quickly enamelled of conflicts with the Portuguese present in the Congo.

Bio

Sammy Baloji (born in 1978 in Lubumbashi, RD Congo) lives and works between Lubumbashi and Brussels. Since September 2019, he has been conducting an art research doctorate at the Sint Lucas Antwerpen School of Arts called “Contemporary Kasala and Lukasa: towards a Reconfiguration of Identity and Geopolitics”.

Since 2005, Sammy Baloji has been exploring the memory and history of the Democratic Republic of Congo. His work is a continual search of the cultural, architectural and industrial patrimony of the region of Katanga, and it questions the impact of Belgian colonisation.

He has been awarded the title Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres and has received a number of grants, awards and distinctions, particularly at the African Photography Encounters of Bamako and the Dakar Biennale. He is also a winner of the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. In 2019-2020, he worked as an artist-in-residence of the French Academy in Rome – Villa Medici. Since 2018, he has been teaching at the Sommerakademie of Salzburg. In 2008, Sammy Baloji co-founded the Picha Encounters/Lubumbashi Biennale. mong his recent monographic exhibitions are Sammy Baloji, Other TalesS, Lund Konsthall and Aarhus Kunsthal (2020); Congo, Fragments d’une histoire, Le Point du Jour, Cherbourg (2019); A Blueprint for Toads and Snakes, Framer Framed, Amsterdam (2018); Sven Augustijnen & Sammy Baloji, Museumcultuur Strombeek (2018); Urban Now: City Life in Congo, Sammy Baloji and Filip de Boeck, The Power Plant, Toronto and WIELS, Brussels (2016-2017); and Hunting and Collecting, Mu.ZEE Kunstmuseum aan zee, Ostend (2014). He recently participated in the Biennale of Sydney (2020), documenta 14 (Cassel/Athènes, 2017), the Biennale de Lyon (2015), the Venice Biennale (2015), and the Festival Photoquai at the Musée du Quai Branly (Paris, 2015).